Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Garmin 106sv + GT56UHD sidescan 1100kHz INTERFERENCE w Minn Kota Terrova 80lb 24V

Hi,

Preface is that I am new to this forum but not new to saltwater fishing, boats, marine electronics. I am an engineer for an automobile mfg OEM and previously spent years building luxury sportfishing boats. (thanks for having me. looking to learn alot from the bass world, as yall seem to be more in touch with the world of sonar technology, MFDs and lots of gear-driven discussions happening here.)

Minn Kota Terrova 24v
    12v50ah lithium in series
    Garmin 106sv
    Gt56UHD, transom mount

Interference is worst at certain speeds on the Terrova. Seems like its bad on ramp-up and mid range. Sortof goes away if I put it on 10. When the troller is off it is crystal clear.

I also notice it only occurs when I am using 1070khz chirp on the transducer. 810 and 455 don't have any interference. I do have the small ferrite ring installed around the ducer wire just before the plug on the MFD, as the instructions state this should reduce any interference. I have also wrapped the transducer wire off the transom in EMF tape, and a ferrite bead is installed at the transducer as well. All other sonar functions work well.

Quick google shows interference is mostly caused by EMF coming from the troller setup, I guess it is somehow radiating from the bow area. The house and trolling are completely independent systems. I can walk anyone through my rigging or boat if they have any explicit interest or want me to chase any leads.

Does anyone know how to best reduce the interference coming from the trolling motor? Can I set up anything differently or install something to make this go away?

Video below to show what it is that I am facing.

Last edited by whoislang; 03-15-2024 at 08:56 AM.

2. Member