Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tennessee Relocation Recommendations

Needing help from the experts…. Recently retired and planning on relocating to Tennessee this fall. I have the ability to move anywhere but prefer central and eastern Tennessee. I fish year round and looking for a lake that has Largemouth, Smallmouth, Crappie and Walleye. I have been looking at the Dale Hollow, Center Hill, Cherokee, Douglas and Tim’s Ford but open to any and all recommendations. Appreciate any information you guys can provide to help me make this decision.

2. Member
    I am no expert, but we are very happy at Dale Hollow. Cookeville is the closest decent size city at 45 miles away, with Knoxville and Nashville about 120 miles away. Byrdstown has a very friendly small town feel where the auto parts guy apologizes for your old battery being bad when you go to buy a new one. The grocery store owner will offer to carry the bags to your car.

Real estate prices are stupid high still, with many properties having multiple sales over the last few years. We bought our place when we got married nearly 18 years ago and have not had a single regret about the purchase.

3. Member
    Thank you! We have actually looked at a home in Byrdstown and another in Albany KY. Everyone we met were super friendly.

4. Member
    I would look into Tullahoma, close to Woods, Tim's and Normandy. All great fishing, certain times a year and not too far from Guntersville and Nickajack. Land and home prices in middle Tennessee is going to be high. Good luck and welcome to Tennessee.

5. Member
    If I could pick anywhere I would move to the Chattanooga area. I'm not necessarily saying in Chattanooga just around there somewhere. You've got Chickamauga and Guntersville right there close. Watts Bar, Tim's Ford, Weiss Lake aren't far at all. Plus plenty of other fishing options as well.

6. Member
    Quote Originally Posted by west_tn View Post