How to mix flake for touch up??

I ordered some flake from ranger to touch up a scratch in my boat and it didn’t come with instructions lol. This is my first time messing with gel coat. I tried looking at YouTube videos and they weren’t much help. I haven’t opened it the can but pretty sure it’s powder I know add a hardener but is there anything else you add. It doesn’t look like add much harder at all. What do you mix it with to get a liquid? I’m a complete beginner with mixing gel coat so I’m clueless lol. Is there a chart somewhere I can measure out just a small amount to use for touch up? Thanks in advance for the help.

3. Member
    Thanks what does he have in the sprayer ? Just clear gelcoat thinned down ?

Clear gel coat thinned with Styrene. Last coat of clear gel coat gets wax or better yet, Duratec Patch Additive / High Gloss Clear

Do a search here for some good info from member, rojoguio, "Champ Full Transom Replacement" on page 4 he talks about spraying and mixing clear gel coat.

I have never blew in the flake to fix a scratch like Justin did in the video, I've mixed it in the clear gel coat but I'm sure blowing it in works also.

5. Member
    Ok thanks a lot I appreciate it. It’s not a big area I’m trying to fix just a big scratch Dow the side from the dock.

I have fixed a few pretty deep scratches by mixing in the flake in the clear, dap it into the scratch with a foam brush and then top coat with just clear gel coat with a foam brush. Build it slight higher, let dry good and then wet sand and buff.

7. Member
    Thanks for the help i appreciate it. Do you have a link of good clear gel coat to use ? I want to get the right stuff. I don’t need much just enough to touch up a few scratches.

Most places are very helpful if you give them a call and tell them what you're planning on doing. I've had good luck with LBI Fiberglass and Express Composites.

9. Member