Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Power Pole MOVE: Talk about and review

On 5/8/22 I was lucky enough to purchase a a PP Move Tm. I wanted to start a thread about this TM. And share my experience with the install and operation of the unit to help anyone who is on the fence about a purchase of this size for something as important as a TM! To me a TM is the most important piece of equipment on my boat. I run 4 units on my boat and I can still catch fish without them. However, If My TM goes down Im done! Im not a professional angler, and Ive paid for everything I use. I’ll talk crap about a piece of equipment as fast as I will give it my approval. My boat “Bullet 21XRS” came with a Ultrex that was 2 yrs old. I used the ultrex for 4 months and bought a Motorguide pinpoint + and used it for 3 months. Im not going to get into these 2 motors on this thread about how they performed for me. But I will say… I could use them both on my boat and trust them until they fail.

Install:
    I use a BoatLogix mount with a built in wedge. The mounting template that PP sent was awesome and laid out beautifully. I was able to cut off the excess card/paper and lay it in my bracket for mounting. However, I was PISSED that PP doesn’t use a common bolt pattern to mount to! There were a few explicative words used for 20 minutes while I drilled more holes into my bracket while mounted on my boat. I really can’t understand why they wouldn’t match up holes with the current patterns to promote the purchase of people who want to up grading or switch brands! Once I got past this, everything was straight forward and came together nicely. Due to the extra wiring of the foot control, display and TM it was a little more time consuming than the switch before. I chose to wire everything up on 36V to keep it all separate from my electronics, except for the remote cradle that I put at my console on 12V. All in all, it took 3 hrs to remove and install the Move including tool clean up.

THE Mount: