Thread: Trilene XT

Trilene XT

Guys yall have helped me with a boat and rods and reels. Now line. I grew up on mono so I thought I may just
    Stick with the Trilene Xt for all my reels. I want to keep it simple. I’m not a pro. I figure 15 lb test is
    good for all around. Advice or different recommendations please. Thanks.

2. Member
    XT for baitcasters.
    XL for spinning.

3. Member
    Will mono work for everything...yes. Is it your best option for everything...no. If you're trying to keep it simple, I would go braid-to-leader. Spool up your reels with 40lb braid and then run a mono leader. The braid will last for years (assuming you don't get a bad backlash and need to respool) and for things like frogging you can just remove the leader and go straight braid. You can buy a spool of mono for the leader material and you can spool one reel with straight mono for crankbaits and/or topwater. Having the braid-to-leader will help with getting good hooksets on long casts since there will be no stretch with the braid. Just my 2 cents.

4. Member
    I agree with the braid to leader. I use it on every setup I have with the exception of my trout rod which has trilene sensation.
    1995 Ranger 481v
    1995 Johnson Fast Strike 175hp

5. Member
    How long is a typical leader?
    And do you use a swivel?

6. Member
    XT in 6 and 8 lb for spinning reels, Big game for 10 lb and bigger on bait casters.

7. Member
    I use braid to a leader for everything also. I do not use a swivel, I tie mine together with a modified alberto knot for spinning gear and fq knot for casting gear(I find the fg knot harder to get tight with smaller diameter line). Casting gear I use a 8-10 foot leader and on my spinning gear ill use 10-20 foot leader depending on water clarity. I can get 3 years out of my braid, cuts way down on my line costs as I use fluorocarbon for my leaders, except wacky rigging around structure I'll use trilene xt for the abrasion resistance.

8. Member