Question about Weight Distribution Hitch

I have a 2007 Rockwood ROO expandable camper and pull it with my 2012 F150 Crew Cab. It pulls fine but I have noticed that it sways quite a bit when pulling.
    Ill be moving the camper back home this year to be able to use it more but am wondering if I need to get a weight distribution type hitch set up to keep the swaying away.
    I know nothing about these hitches at all. Is there something like weight wise i need to get and how to they hook up etc.

2. Member
    I'm not an expert by no means but I have pulled campers without a weight distribution hitch with sway control and I'll never do it again. I only did it in certain circumstances. I recommend buying one, they have all kinds and they can get very expensive but in my opinion they are worth it. They do have different ones for different weight trailers. If you don't know how much your trailer weighs fully loaded (not dry weight) them put it on a truck scale and find out. Then look for a hitch that's appropriate for your trailer. I have a blue ox now and it works great I'm very happy with it.
    2000 Ranger R81VS 175 Merc EFI

3. Member
    Watch this video, it will help get a general understanding of the importance of weight distribution.

I wouldn't pull with a WDH either. I have a 1/2 Ram with a 20' travel trailer. I have had two different WD Hitches. The 4 Point Equalizer and the Andersen. Both work well. I much prefer the Andersen. A lot of the WDH like the Equalizer use steel bars in their setup. These are a bit more of a hassle to work with then the whale plate with chains the Andersen uses. Once unhooked you have to store the bars somewhere and they are heavy. No big deal, just prefer the Andersen for ease of hooking up and unhooking. Plus the bar types tend to make a considerable amount of noise as they rub on the plates to cause the friction to reduce sway.

Unfortunately none are cheap.