Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Replacing break pads

I posted this on the Phoenix form also with no reply so I thought I would
    try here.

I pulled the wheels off my MM trailer Sunday to check the rear seals for my

Vault hubs. When I pulled the wheels I found one of my break pads
    was broken in three places and was separated from the metal plate.
    First off I am assuming the the pad came unglued from the metal backing plate
    and then the pad broke. What puzzles me is why did the pad separate and dose anyone
    have any ideas what caused it. The other pads had probably 3/4 of there useful life left.

A couple questions about the new pads.
    2. Has anyone used the ceramic pads instead of the organic type and
    how are they performing.
    3. Should I replace with the Dexter brand or go with a larger brake manufacturer
    who makes the pads for the Kia sephia.
    Mike
    2019 Phoenix 721 pro xp

Mercury 250 pro xs
    2B575862

2. Member
    I’m an auto tech and can say I’ve never replaced trailer brakes yet. So I am not going to try and answer some questions as I don’t like guessing. What I will say in my automotive experience is pads cracking or delaminating from backing sometimes is just poor manufacturing. I’ve seen other times from heat. Excessive dragging, being stuck in slides the get too hot and fail. There are normally signs with this. Rotors hot spotted and or uneven wear on pads. If none of that is present you may simply have gotten a bad pad on your rig. If you have signs of other symptoms then see if you have a bad caliper, hardware etc before you reinstall. If the rotor is hot spotted replace it.

As far as replacement parts I’m a fan of oem. That said I will leave others to answer what works well as that’s not my wheelhouse.
    2008 Skeeter 21I. Yamaha 250 Series II.
    2011 Toyota Tundra Crewmax 4x4.