Towing with a jeep

I have a 2019 4 door rubicon. Anyone else tow with something similar? Trying to see what size boat it will tow. I know the numbers but I would rather have first hand experience. I’m looking to get 19-20’ skeeter or something similar. Will I have problems?

2. Member
    The original owner of my boat towed with a 4door Jeep Wrangler. Had no issues at all. My boat weighs about 3500-3700lbs
    1995 Ranger 481v
    1995 Johnson Fast Strike 175hp

3. Member
    You’re going to get a flurry of answers anywhere from I won’t tow a canoe with anything less than a 1 ton diesel, down to guys who tow 22 foot rigs with a Honda Civic. I’m an auto tech and I wouldn’t give you an absolute answer. I feel like it’s fine to tow up to about 75% of the vehicle limit comfortably. I have nothing to back that up other than I've been around cars for 30 years. I’ve seen a lot of things. But I have no facts, that’s just my opinion and it’s not worth more than anyone else’s. It’s rated for 3500 lbs. It’s got a full frame which is nice, the main draw back is going to be vehicle weight and engine/trans power. So a Skeeter fxr20 is almost 2200 lbs, roughly 1500lb trailer, fuel and gear say 600 lbs, you now towing 4300 lbs conservatively. If you went to a 19 maybe it gets closer but imo I wouldn’t feel good without about a 5000lb capacity tow vehicle. Again please note this is opinion, take it for what it’s worth.

4. Member
    Thanks for the info. I have a place at the lake so probably won’t have to trailer it too often.

5. Member
    your V6 will tow it fine. I've towed a 18'6 and 19'6 single axle 1000 mile trips many times in the pentastar v6. But you need to stay within your towing weight limit, ensure your trailer has brakes.

The element that is in question is towing with a short wheel base- I don't know the exact model jeep you have. short infrequent tows I would not think a problem
    2024 Phoenix 818
    2024 merc 175 pro xs 3B411947

6. Member