Thread: The trades …

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

The trades …

Didn’t want to piggyback on the current custom home thread and the discussion has taken a turn toward the lack of skilled labor. So here’s some thoughts from a 30+ year tradesman …

1) Trades have been marginalized here in the US for longer than many think. I graduated from a public HS in 1982. This particular school (again, not a vo-tech but a normal HS) was very unique in that it had 2 complete woodworking shops, a print shop, a metalworking shop, a 3 bay auto shop, an electric shop and a horticulture area. Back then in spite of all of that, the shops were where the discipline problems and academic non achievers were routinely dumped by the administrators because they didn’t want to deal with them. Everyone loves having access to skilled labor but ew, I don’t want any parts of that …

2) For the longest time, there was not a “skills shortage”, it was a wage shortage. Management vehemently denies that to this day but that’s how it was from our perspective. They have loosened up the purse strings somewhat but for the most part it’s been too little too late.