Two 9s or one 12 at the dash

I currently have two 12 lives at my bow, and one live 9 flush mounted in the dash. I have another 9 live loose right now and was pondering mounting it and the other 9 on a bbt dash mount, or just getting rid of the 9s altogether and putting one 12 at the console. From the current wiring standpoint, it makes more sense to just install one new 12 at the dash. Thought to get some opinions if there are reasons the two 9s, or the one 12, at the dash makes more sense. I am relatively new to Lowrance.

2. Member
    I was in the same dilemma but the other way around. I have a 16 live at the bow and Carbon 12 at the console. I have a Carbon 9 as a spare. I started thinking about two 9's at the console and the cool factor was the only reason I could come up with for doing it.
    So in the end, the 9 is still my spare and I kept the 12 at the console. I like the size of the 12 screen and with the splits adjusted to my liking, it's just right for me.
    Bullet 21XRS
    Mercury Pro XS 250

3. Member
    Thanks for the response. Dual coolness has crossed my mind with the intent to replace the two 9s with 12s at the dash when I’m able. But the way it’s wired now for just one unit I can just get rid of the 9s and install a 12. I wanted to see if anyone had a practical reason the two 9s would serve better than a single 12. My follow up question will be should I flush mount the 12 in the dash or buy a single mount for it that gets it out of the dash.

4. Member
    I went from one 12 in a previous boat to two 9s in my newest boat. I miss the 12, and often only turn on one 9. If I had to do it over again, I would have specified the single mount console instead of the one with the two Ballz Out mounts.
    2021 BassCatt Pantera II
    200 Pro XS(3B056653)
    Motorguide Tour Pro

5. Member