Brakes locking while backing!

Recently had an issue with brakes locking while trying to back trailer. Used the "key" in the tongue and got it in the garage. Where do I start diagnosis. I have towed for 15 years and never experienced this issue.

2. Member
    Reverse lights coming on? My old '02 Dodge Ram with a manual transmission had a microswitch on the side of the transmission housing that was activated when I threw the old girl into reverse.

Bet there's a switch on an auto too.

First thing to do though is check the fuse for the reverse lights.

3. Member
    Had same issue recently. After checking fuses and obvious things I discovered the ground on my trailer was rusted and corroded. Removed ground wire cleaned up the connection reinstalled tightened the bolt and all was good.
    Joefish
    2007 Ranger 178DVS
    Evinrude ETEC 150

<*)}}}><

4. Member
    should hear a click in the tongue when put into reverse IF the trucks reverse lights are working and wiring is good to the trailer
    2022 z519 cup 225 merc 4s ser # 3B210484. 2--hds12 live units. 2 poles, atlas plate, ghost, hamby's, active target, merc digital gauges
    2002 basscat pantera 3 (dad bought new) sold 8-2-22
    2000 stratos 20 ss (bought new) 200 hp Rude ficht great boat/motor sold 11-21
    pulled by a 2500HD Denali
    proud dad of an ARMY Captain
    MAGA
    ASE/GM Master tech before tools

1st. Check for Back-Up lights are coming on. No lights means no power to the lock out solenoid. Check the power at the plug on the truck, then check the trailer plug.

2nd. Check the ground wire on the trailer. Make sure the wire to the trailer plug is connected to the trailer frame. Clean all rust and use a new screw or bolt however it makes the connection.

ALSO, check the fuse on the truck located in the engine compartment usually at the front of the motor. Your owners manual will tell you which ones are for the trailer.
    Ranger Boats / Mercury Motors
    G Loomis Rods / Shimano Reels