Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Need some help... Had an accident with boat and trailer

Hey guys... Coming home yesterday evening from fishing and got hit by a car on the port side of the trailer. The trailer is totaled. It ripped both axles off pivot bolt bent, tongue twisted, middle and back crossmember broke, bunks broke and mounts bent etc. The car hit me at about 40-45 MPH. The is not a lot of damage to the boat that I can see, but I am no fiberglass guy. I see 5-8 gouges to raw fiberglass, cracks on the transom where motor mounts in the splash well, possible slight shift of hydraulic jack plate, broke the mounting tabs of my battery charger, etc. It also bent my motor totor as well. Also, my boat is wrapped (I wrap boat for a living). I guess I should add there is a police report on this, and the police and the other driver agree it was her fault. The boat is a 2012 Bass Cat Puma FTD

I have never been through this so looking for some advice, suggestions, do's and don'ts. I have come up with a few questions for you guys and please add any information you would like please.

I would like to remove the wrap for further inspection. There could be spider cracks or worse hiding below the wrap. Should Ins. pay for this?

How do I get a quote for a new trailer? Does any one know the price of a new trailer?

Who should I get to do repairs?

If it takes 6 months to do repairs, and or parts do I just have to deal with it or does the ins. company have to do something to provide me a boat? I understand this will not be resolved in a week, but 6 months would be unacceptable to me.

Thanks to everyone. Happy fishing!!
    Roger Jenks Jr
    2021 Bass Cat Lynx
    250 Pro xs 4S Serial # 3B010758

2. Member
    Sorry for your loss……hopefully you have an agreed value policy. Have not been through a totalled trailer but your insurance adjuster should do the legwork for you. He/ she’ll also coordinate to get the hull delivered to your repair facility.