RT188 - Fuel Demand Valve

Recently purchased a 2015 RT188 - my first boat. I've got very little boating knowledge to pull from, so I'm going to end up learning some things the hard way, I'm sure. Will be leaning on the knowledge resources here for years to come. I've found a number of older threads that talk about this issue, and really only identified this as a potential problem due to the gas smell in my garage. It looks like there is - or was - gas escaping from the tank around the fuel demand valve. I can't find any sort of crack around the valve, as is discussed in some other threads. Is this the valve the likely culprit, or could it be the metal coupling underneath that connects the valve to the tank? What's the best resource to purchase whatever replacement part I need? Will I need any type of sealant? What's the best method of cleaning the fuel from the outside of the tank after I've fixed the problem? Thanks for any help you all can give.

XrxYMXX - Imgur.jpg

Fuel Demand Valve - Imgur.jpg

2. Member
    These guys will be chimin in soon. I have the same issue. I still have not found out how to pull the bottom pad of the seats to gain access to the tank. Your 15 steps ahead of me, lol. I have a 2017 198P.

Smith Mountain Lake, VA and a cottage in Ontario
    I’d bet that your valve has already been replaced once. They can be purchased from any Ranger dealer or you can buy one on-line, just be sure it is the correct part number. Doesn’t hurt to have a spare around either. You will need a gasket sealant suitable for gasoline. Again, your dealer can help with a recommendation or a local auto parts store.
    2018 Ranger RT188 SC Black/115 hp Yamaha SHO 4-stroke; Garmin LVS34 - north
    2018 Ranger RT188 DC Black/115 hp Merc Pro XS 4-stroke; Garmin LVS34 - south
    14' Mirrorcraft tin boat (ancient) with a 9.9 Mercury 4-stroke, no electronics; catches fish anyway

4. Member