BBC SPONSOR

2015 G2 250HO puking steering fluid into/behind silver trim caps/covers!

Last time I tried to get on plane last night the engine was turned hard to one side and I noticed the steering wheel feel like it was slipping when turning it back to the middle. I checked the fluid file access and noticed that it was low so I dug around under the mount and swivel section and could only find a drop or 2 of fluid.

This morning I added fluid and the steering feels better but it keeps loosing fluid. I pulled off the cap on the trim just to see if I could see anything in there (etec newbie here) and to my horror there was at lease 3-4 oz of steering fluid behind the starboard cap.

what can cause this? DPS failure? Can I find parts for this? Am I going to need to rob a bank?

Maybe this will help...

1994 201 Champ re-powered with a 250 HO G2 E250LHAFA 05438419

3. Member
    Sorry to say but there are issues in the midsection. This is a known problem. Is the engine under warranty? Highly recommend having an Evinrude dealer inspect the system then contact BRP. The repair has been replacement of the stern bracket midsection assembly.

4. BBC SPONSOR
    no, there is no warranty. Evinrude didn’t start bribing people into buying these with a 10 year warranty until later on. This one will be all on me.

Quote Originally Posted by Bighare2 View Post
    Sorry to say but there are issues in the midsection. This is a known problem. Is the engine under warranty? Highly recommend having an Evinrude dealer inspect the system then contact BRP. The repair has been replacement of the stern bracket midsection assembly.

5. BBC SPONSOR
    Looks like I have 2 separate issues. The fluid behind the caps is tilt/trim fluid and it is a result of the pin being installed incorrectly. Both nuts are finger tight and there is about .15” more sticking out to the starboard side. Guess I have a Friday engine.