Thread: Pellet Question

Pellet Question

My pellet grill season is winding down. I'll depend on my gas grill for my limited outdoor cooks during the cold months. This is my first year with a pellet grill and I'm curious what some of you guys do at the end of the season with the pellets in the hopper? I live in northern Illinois and I'd like to know if I can leave the remaining pellets in the hopper for the winter or should I remove them? I know the outside air is drier during the winter months but wonder if some how the pellets will absorb moisture over the winter even though the grill is covered when not in use.

2. Member
    Recently got a RecTeq and was planning on using it all winter. Never crossed my mind not to.

3. Member
    If not using it for a while I would scoop or vacuum out the pellets and let the grill run out with it lit. Too much moisture from temperature changes could cause for a pain this spring
    2019 Ford F-150 Platinum (3.5EcoBoost/10spd)
    **Listed FOR SALE**2014 Ranger Z119C w/ Evinrude ETEC 225HO Running Croxton’s Razor 4XL 25P
    Helix 12 Mega G2N’s with Ultrex
    Think like a fish, no matter how weird it gets

4. Member
    Why limit to warmer months. They work just fine in the cold weather.

5. Member
    Quote Originally Posted by XingEyeballs View Post
    If not using it for a while I would scoop or vacuum out the pellets and let the grill run out with it lit. Too much moisture from temperature changes could cause for a pain this spring
    Thanks for the response. Your thoughts are similar to mine. I too wondered about the frequent temp change and it's possible effect on the pellets. There is a pretty good chance my pellet grill will sit idle for almost 5 months. I plan on cooking this years Thanksgiving turkey on the pellet grill and then cleaning it up after that cook. I'll remove the remaining pellets to be on the safe side.

6. Member
    Quote Originally Posted by ThomasD View Post