Exclamation Do clubs matter that much?

As I posted on here last week I'm still learning and starting out. Last year I bought a set of Strata's as a beginner set, I think I paid $400 for the set, came with irons a couple woods a hybrid and bag. My best round to date is a 104 but I'm getting better each round. I also have gone to a Vice ball over my cheapo's and it seems to of made a really big difference in my distance and accuracy, I was pretty shocked at how much it seems to of helped. My friends I play with all have high dollar clubs and drivers. I'm going to save up for a set of fitted clubs at some point. My question is on the driver, I'm thinking of investing in a new driver. The one that comes with the Strata starter set is titanium pretty plain jane. I'm hitting good with it now but of course my friends are out driving me by a bunch which I know isn't all club there are many factors but my question is, how much of a difference does the driver make? Like the newer drivers with new materials and engineering etc? Is it worth going ahead and investing in a good one now and then get fitted with irons later? The one I have now is a 10.5 loft and my assumption is regular flex. My friends seem to all have the 10.5 loft and the stiff flex on the driver, thoughts on that also? Lastly I don't need the latest and greatest and don't even mind buying used to save some money, I'm open to suggestions on a year or two year old driver if you guys have any? One friend has a Callaway Epic, One a Maverik and a couple are using Ping 425's I believe is the model (they really crush). Thanks for listening guys.

Yes, and being fitted for them matters even more! They will help you figure out the flex and lengths you need, all the stuff that matters and is important for you to improve.

3. Member
    Do you get fitted for the driver as well? What are thoughts on buying like a used driver for now that's say 5 to 7 years old? Is that technology way way outdated?

4. Member