Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Tips to remove Thru Hull Transducers

Hey guys

I have an older Triton walleye boat, 215x to be specific…. Previous owner used Humminbirds and I have switched to Garmin.

I need to remove his old thru hull transducers so I can mount my new garmin one. Any tips how to remove these? I assume they were epoxied down. These boats have such small areas to work in, not sure how I am going to do it!

Thanks in advance!

2. Member
    2x4 and hammer.....

And technically it's a shoot-thru, a thru-hull has a hole drilled for the stem and cable.
    Mike

2019 Ranger 520L w/ 250HO ETEC G2
    2011 Tracker 175TXW w/ 75HO ETEC

3. Member
    Quote Originally Posted by blkfalc4 View Post
    2x4 and hammer.....

And technically it's a shoot-thru, a thru-hull has a hole drilled for the stem and cable.
    Sorry yes, shoot thru…. always has aluminum boats so I am new to the idea.

I was told a 2x4 and hammer but there is so little room, not sure I will be able to swing a hammer…

How much force should I expect to be needed? and then can I epoxy the new one in that spot?

Quote Originally Posted by bigmac1984 View Post
    Sorry yes, shoot thru…. always has aluminum boats so I am new to the idea.

I was told a 2x4 and hammer but there is so little room, not sure I will be able to swing a hammer…

How much force should I expect to be needed? and then can I epoxy the new one in that spot?
    Assuming you're not going to use the old transducer, just hit it directly with a hammer and knock it loose. Hand jam a chisel to knock out the bug chunks of epoxy and follow it with a palm sander. Don't bother going too fine because it will stick better after the coarse grit. Just make sure it's flat and even.

Be sure to use slow cure epoxy so the air bubbles will have time to escape before it cures.

Steel City Bassmasters - Granite City, Illinois

5. Member
    Sand down old epoxy and reinstall new.