1999 evinrude lower unit issue

Alright guys, took my boat in for prop shaft seal replacement bc it was leaking. 1999 evinrude 200 ficht. They replaced the seals, and it still leaks. They're saying the carrier is walking, causing the prop shaft to wobble (making the brand new seals leak immediately again). Looking like it could just need a housing and cartier, or might need a rebuild or possible new lower unit. The shop is calling evinrude Monday. It's a reputable shop, but I'm new to boats and outboards. Thoughts?

I spoke with the mechanic again, said he's never seen this in 40 years of being an evinrude tech. What might cause this to happen? He quoted me 2700 for new housing and carrier, 4000 for evinrude reman complete lower unit. Where might I find one used?

2. Member
    Buy a good used one or buy a new SEI unit for about a thousand dollars. You hear some bad things about them but I had one on my 2000 Evinrude 200 with no issues. Just break them in as per their instructions. The SEI unit also comes with a three year warranty.

3. Member
    Sei would be an after market unit? I've heard it's hard to find parts for the aftermarket units. This is my first boat, and owned the boat less than a year. Took the boat in for what I thought would be an easy repair, and they found a bigger issue.

4. Member
    I found a place called Crowleys marine and they sell reman evinrude lower units. Has anyone bought from there?

5. Ohio Fishing Reports Moderator omcforever's Avatar
    A lot of people use Crowleys,,,,I have used them. Never heard of any major issues with them.

Age and treachery will always overcome youth and skill !!

6. Ohio Fishing Reports Moderator omcforever's Avatar
    Contact Eddie Pope on the boards here aka Gearcaseman.

Age and treachery will always overcome youth and skill !!

7. Member