Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Do it enough and....

... maybe I'll get good at it.

Sooo... Decided to re-wire my electronics top-to-bottom. Last time I made some changes on the end(s) of the circuit(s). This time I'll be rewiring from the battery to the MFD.

Gonna document it here for two reasons.

#1) If I do something stup.... dum.... incorrect hopefully the electrical engineers among us...{hint... hint... MJ3} will grab me by the collar n' get me going in the right directions.

#2) If someone else has been considering rewiring but wasn't sure where to start - maybe the information contained in this post will help.

A lot of the stuff is still on the truck(s) headed this way from where ever but I'll post pics of what I've got so far.

The goal of this li'l project is to eliminate any possibility that the 12v feed is the source of any interference that may show up in the images.

Hats off to MicahaelJ3 for helping me with this project. I'm no electrical engineer - he is.

I'm eliminating the dual buss bar that I've used since 2014. In it's place I'm using a Blue Sea #5025 6 position common source fuse block w/negative. The "Common source" means I have only one 12V lead that feeds the 6 positions. The "w/Negative" means I can terminate both positive and negative cables at the fuse block. This may seem like a no brainer to some but it's not a common wiring practice. It does lead to "issues" when routing the wires but I voted in favor of the simplicity of routing sheathed cable to a common destination vs splitting the sheathing much further up the cable. I suppose a case of 6 of one and 1/2 dozen of the other.