Tips for a new guy...

Sorry for all the new guy posts...So I’m still learning. Does anyone have a “guide” or article or anything on the weights of crankbaits and other hard plastics? One thing I’ve learned is there is there is a lot to learn... Some of this stuff is confusing and I feel like I’m not catching anything because I’m not using the right baits.
    "I found the key to happiness, Fish more, Stress less"

It's more about being in the right spot and less about using the right bait.

Quote Originally Posted by Crabnbass View Post
    It's more about being in the right spot and less about using the right bait.
    Well i wasn’t in the right spot today lol. I don’t have a boat so I’m bank fishing and a little difficult.
    "I found the key to happiness, Fish more, Stress less"

Quote Originally Posted by SCMason View Post
    Well i wasn’t in the right spot today lol. I don’t have a boat so I’m bank fishing and a little difficult.
    That makes things difficult but not impossible. Don't overcomplicate things. Narrow it down to 2-3 colors and 3 or 4 baits until you find some fish. Green pumpkin, Black/Blue, Shad. Crankbait, Jig, Chatterbait/Spinnerbait. Good luck.

Ponds

I was raised around ponds, Even today I love pond fishing. No boat, just take my time and walk around a 4-6 acre pond. Most the time you will catch more that out of a boat---- depending on the pond.

6. Member
    Often wondered why when bank fishing I try to cast as far out as I can. Then when on a boat I'm casting towards shore.

7. Member
    Spend time on Google earth. I shore fish alot and man is it helpful . Look for areas where fish can be shallow for this time of the year and any kind of cover you can cast to. You can bring a bunch of tackle and sort through it all day or just get a couple things and focus on fishing. Spinnerbait, senko and any Texas rig plastic will catch fish anywhere in the country. Green pumpkin plastics to keep it simple

8. Member