Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Banned

Learning to detect bites fishing soft plastics

Been a real tough last few months on my home lake this year. I can usually ALWAYS catch a few bass cranking....but not this year. And needless to say, im not very good at anything else...especially Trigging and worming!

Was fishing a couple weeks ago....and I lost a nice one! It was 100% my fault since I didnt give it a good hookset, cuz I didnt even realize I had a bite right away! I was really mad at myself after that...cuz I feel like I need to be more well rounded and able to fish soft plastics at least decently to help on those days when the bite isnt on fishing my style.

Well my homelake isnt a fish factory...and ive heard its easiest to learn soft plastics by fishing and getting bit. So....if thats not an option what do you all think I should do to become more proficient at worming? Im thinking of leaving all my rods at home and only bringing a fairy wand, flipping stick, and T-rig rod...and just forcing it. What do you all think?

2. Member
    Go pond fishing. That will help. Remember hooksets are free if in doubt swing away.

Sometimes it is one chomp sometimes it is the tap tap sometimes you feel nothing when you should be feeling something sometimes it is a little give sometimes it feels like you are hooked on a stump sometimes your line is going the wrong way............................. I fish a t rig 90 percent of the time and I learn something new every now and then.

3. Member
    Fish a small straight tail worm on a 3/16 shakey head. Add the Ned rig, if you haven't already. As Transom stated, there are MANY different signals that you're getting bit. These two methods will get you a lot of bites to study.

4. Member
    Try throwing a wacky worm
    Tracker Panfish 16

Bonafide EX123 Kayak

5. Member