Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

FC knots, whats do you use?

So I've been having issues with my knots breaking when using FC, I'm pretty new to it so this is a new problem for me. I bought 15 lb. Seagar red label and either my leader knot breaks which is a dbl uni-knot or my hook knot breaks and I was using a Palomar knot.
    Is it junk line or are my knots wrong?
    2000 Javelin Renegade 20 DC.
    Strong men create easy times, Easy times create weak men & weak men create hard times. Sheikh Rashid bin Saeed Al Maktoum
    In 1944 18-20 year old's stormed beaches, and parachuted behind enemy lines to almost certain death.
    In 2015 18-20 year old's need safe zones so people don't hurt their feelings. "Author Unknown"
    In 2021 18-40 year old's want to and work to cancel you out if you have a different opinion.

Properly tied Palomar 75% of the time. The knot Shaw Grisby and Gary Klein tie the other 25% of the time. FC Sniper. I don’t have any problems whatsoever with breakage.
    BassCat Sabre FTD
    Mercury 150 Optimax
    "It's just fishing"

3. Member
    Alberto knot for leaders and clinch knot or polymer knot at the hook. Double uni I’ve had break often on fish. Using the Alberto knot I’ve never broke off on a fish. With a straight line pull on a snag the line will bust before the knot
    1995 Ranger 481v
    1995 Johnson Fast Strike 175hp

Alberto for leaders. San Diego jam for direct. Some setups I'll do a double San Diego jam.
    24’Bass Cat Puma Sts-300 Proxs
    23’Gatortrax Gt tunnel hull-200 Suzuki

5. Member
    I don’t have a problem tying a Palomar knot with Red Label. Red Label is on 90% of my rods and I tie a palomar knot on most everything. If you’re not doing it already, you have to make sure your two pieces on line in the line tie aren’t crossed and the entire knot should cinch tight at the same time.

6. Member