Guitar help----I want to buy one for my wife.

Hi All,

I am considering buying my wife another guitar for her birthday next month. I have very little knowledge in anything music related so I thought I would reach out for help. My wife has been taking lessons for a little over the year and with her musical background (pretty accomplished trumpet player in high school) she has really excelled in picking it up and really wants to do some open mics. We purchased a decent Yamaha acoustic from Guitar center and it sound great but she has been hinting around at maybe getting another one. We went to check some out and there wasnt much that caught her eye under 2K. The problem is that she is typically drawn to "shiny things" and would like one that's not the typical tan/brown tones and different from what she already has. So I went searching and thought this one would fit her "personality" well https://www.sweetwater.com/store/det...gal-to-natural .

So I am asking what do you think about this guitar? Would I want to get a super shallow body? Any recommendations?

2. Member
    I’m sure no pro but know enough to be dangerous!
    Heres my thoughts: One with a shallow body I don’t think will give you a lot of sound volume unless it with a amp. This can be good if she’s just setting around plucking on it. So you’ll have to make a judgement on that. Buying an “ inexpensive “ guitar is fine in itself, there’s some pretty good ones out there I’ve seen and heard but keep in mind if or when you get ready to sell it or trade up they don’t bring much of your money back. There’s thousands of them out there. Whereas a name brand,even a good used one will better hold its value or increase in value. Also the “better” one are much easier to play.
    This did not cost you anything so that maybe all it’s worth!
    Good Luck!
    Mark Hopper
    Jackson Tn 38301
    htbboats@aol.com

3. Member