Water Pump service, 2017 150 Pro XS Opti Max?

I been changing Mercury water pumps for 25 years. This is my first yearly service on a new to me 150 Pro XS. When I start to drop the lower unit, there is a small diameter black hose or wire next to the shift shaft? What the heck is the black hose or wire? What is the next step to get it disconnected? How do you reconnect on the re-install? Thank you for the help, Allen

2. Member
    Here is a picture.
    Attached Images Attached Images

3. Member
    Looks like the water pressure tube on the older units to me.

4. Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Ben Danbleume View Post
    Looks like the water pressure tube on the older units to me.
    Hello Ben, I will check but every other motor I’ve owned pulls the water pressure off the top of one of the heads. I’m going through manuals on-line and have not found that line. Still a mystery. I’m sure one of our fellow boaters will chime in and have the answer.
    Allen

5. Member
    He means it's the hose for the speedometer water pressure. I have a different motor but it seems mine had enough slack in it to drop the lower unit enough to disconnect the hose from its fitting.

6. Member
    black line is for speedo/ push on outer edge of fitting and pull hose at same time
    .................................................. ...the scariest thing in life is the unknown ...................................

7. Member
    Quote Originally Posted by JOE54 View Post
    black line is for speedo/ push on outer edge of fitting and pull hose at same time
    ^^^^

Have fun putting it back together, that line is always my Achille's Heel when stuffing the lower. One of these day's I'll complete my 2.5L water pump service "How To" to be added to the 2.5L forum FAQ.
    _______

Phil
    '09 Hewescraft ProV
    '09 150 Optimax

8. Member
    put a speedo or w/psi coupler in line above gearcase