Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    idbefishing

Any Walleye fisherman here?

So I've caught a lot of walleyes over the years while bass fishing. I've caught them on crankbait, spinnerbait, jerkbait, jig, tube, rattletrap; never caught any on topwater or a worm. My question is, when you're not trolling for walleye and just casting, are the lures much different than bass lures?

I fish them as much as I can but I'm not an expert. My circle of friends here are all walleye fisherman. The biggest difference I notice when casting is its all the small thin cranks (shad raps, flicker shads, flicker minnows) never the wobblers that bass guys throw. And the plastics are all pretty skinny. Nothing close to the creature baits, just all worms or paddle tails. But I think a lot of that is just what they've always been told. I fished a tournament as a Co last year and guy told me he jigs speed craws for walleyes. Says everybody looks at him like he's crazy but like he said all that walleye sees is the movement it doesn't care what it actually is.

3. Member
    Yes, I'm primarily a walleye fisherman. I hardly ever troll for walleye. We like to fish the shallows when the water temp is right and the minnows come shallow to spawn. I would say there's probably not much difference in lures. Don't use creatures or frogs. Everything else is in play. First choice is a 3" twister tail on 1/8 jig. Second is #7 or #8 shad raps. smaller original raps of the long thin profile are good. I also love using square bills when craw dads are coming in. Rattle traps also work well.

4. Member
    I catch tons of walleye while smallmouth fishing using Silver Buddy's, Hopkin's Spoons. Jigging Rapala's and other blade baits. I have also caught my share on standard bass crankbaits.

Two years ago I got into a mess of walleyes using a Ned Rig. I have caught wallaye on top waters and spinner baits as well but those don't happen every year.
    '14 Triton 18XS 150 Optimax Pro XS Fortrex 80