Jerkbait question

My apologies if this has been asked and answered but I couldn’t find it.

I’m somewhat new to fishing a jerkbait - when you guys cast it out, what do you do to get it to depth? Do you start twitching and pausing right away? Or do you reel down a few cranks? Something else?

thanks!

2. Member
    Usually reel down 5 or 6 turns (depends on the particular bait), then start working the bait

3. Member
    I usually sweep my rod tip down, sometimes turning the reel one revolution before beginning my cadence. A deep diver I probably turn the reel two - three times. If I want to work the bait shallow I use a short rod sweep and work the jerkbait with the rod higher.

oe

4. Member
    3 or 4 hard jerks to get it down.

5. Member
    If I’m fishing shallow, I’ll start twitching at the get go. If I’m not in shallow water (5+ft), I’ll sweep the rod once or twice to get it to depth. If I’m fishing a deep jerkbait, I’ll sweep my rod a few times and start twitching from there.

6. Member
    Thanks everyone! It almost sounds like I can just experiment and let conditions and personal preference dictate....

7. Better Lucky Than Good! Casslaw's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by fishinFamily View Post
    Thanks everyone! It almost sounds like I can just experiment and let conditions and personal preference dictate....
    BINGO! If in throwing it up shallow I’ll start twitching it right away. If the fish are a little deeper I’ll crank it down 3-4 turns before working it. You just have to play with it every cast to see how to get them to respond.
    2006 Triton SP-185, 2006 Evinrude Etec 90, PowerTech NRS3, Garmin Echomap Plus 73CV & 93SV

One or two hard rips gets it to depth quickly, and doesn’t “waste” the first part of your cast like cranking it down will do.