Thread: Jack plate

Jack plate

Has one tried the hole shot plate that goes on the bottom of the jack plate. Have 2018 Cougar that struggles to come out of the hole. Was hoping this might help.

2. Member
    What engine/prop?
    What is engine height in relation to pad?

don't see how a Cougar can struggle to get out of the hole if its even close to being propped right.
    mine is a 03 but same hull with a 225 EFI merc turning a 25p tempest and it comes out of the hole like a rocket

4. Member
    2018 Pro xs 25 p fury 4 blade w/ jack plate

5. Member
    With the 4 blade, it should be a rocket out of the hole. Where is the prop shaft in relation to the pad?

6. Member
    I havent checked that yet. What should it be. That will also change with the jack plate correct?

7. Member
    I had the same issue with my 14 Puma and a Merc Pro XS. That is the only reason I got rid of the boat. I think it was something with the ProXS, but I am no expert. Hopefully the 4 strokes eliminate this issue. With poles, gas, 4 batteries, co-angler, and live wells full it was ugly. especially with a 300 pound co-angler trying to come out of Harney Pond grass. When chobee had grass.

8. Member