Procraft/Astro Boats Moderator

Bolt Strength Differences for jackplate, help needed

Hey Guys,

I got a fixed 10 inch slidemaster jack plate. It uses 4 S30400 bolts to hold it together currently. Unfortunately These bolts are going to be too short when I add power pole plates on the side of the jackplate. Lowes has stainless steel bolts in the same size and a longer length, but they are marked with F593C. I have tried to do some research online but cannot find a ton of information. Does anyone know the difference in strength between these two bolt types, and if going with the F593C would be sufficient? Thanks.
    John Woodward

2010 Nitro Z8

2. Member
    Here's one discussion.

https://www.scribd.com/doc/139128082...-F593C-Article

304 is standard 18/8 stainless. F593C bolts are also made from 18/8 stainless, but they have a higher tensil strength that S30400 bolts. Either should be fine since you probably will not be subjecting them to salt water.

3. Member
    Whew, a little confusing but, let me take a stab at it. The 593C is an ASTM specification. The S304 is an alloy designation. So the F933C has certain characteristics such as 65 KSI. If the 304 is made to 593C specifications then it will have the 65KSI tensile strength (65 kilopounds per sq. in.). It would APPEAR to me any stainless bolt that met the 593C ASTM spec would be fine. I know clear as mud. Maybe someone will show up shortly that can explain it better.

Check out this post in the Stroker forum.

http://www.bbcboards.net/showthread.php?t=959112
    Stroker DC21 Mercury 250 XB

Buy TH Marine mounting bolts with brass no gall nuts and you wont have to worry about it. Even better would be to buy Mercury fine thread bolts with brass nuts but they will cost more. You are supposed to tighten jack plate to engine bolts to 90 ft lbs. I would not trust a bolt not designed for that purpose.

6. Procraft/Astro Boats Moderator
    Quote Originally Posted by Skeeterbait View Post