Engine too high on Ranger?

89 Ranger 364V with 88 Johnson GT150 with a 24P Raker and 6" jack plate. 3.5" PTP. Just had the prop repaired and B&B added some cup to the blades. Previously I had great holeshot and good bow lift. Now I feel like I'm getting a lot of stern lift. Holeshot is 3x's as long and the nose is low running WOT. It actually is throwing a rooster tail now where it has never come close to throwing one before. The more you trim the higher the rooster tail with zero nose lift. I am not an expert at this so here are my two thoughts at what is going on. Maybe someone can verify or validate what I'm thinking... I am thinking start by dropping the engine a quarter or half inch? This should give me more leverage and possibly get the nose up as a result? Keep going down till I get desired results. This is the main goal right now. Getting the nose up. I would think going up would just worsen the effects correct? Or possible the cup in the Raker is just too much for the engine? But then I think maybe it's not. When purchased it ran 4800 RPM w/ no setback and 5.75" PTP with this nose level w/ this damaged prop. With same damaged prop and 6" plate and prop set to 3.5" PTP I was seeing 5000 RPM at this nose level. With both of those setups I could raise the nose higher to the point I was actually getting really up on the pad. It would just start walking on me, and that took a while to figure out how to drive it. Last time out before prop repair was when I learned how to balance it on pad. I could give more trim and it opened up(gained 4 mph and I could hear the RPM's increasing) but I didn't bother checking RPM's closely as I was too busy watching the nose of the boat. But it was north of 5000 RPM's. Now I am seeing 5200 RPM running level. I am thinking nose up on pad is going to get it a couple hundred extra RPM's. Am I thinking correctly??

2. Member