Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Amistad in March

Thinking about taking my son to Amistad for spring break March 9-17. Being this is my first time on the lake, I'm probably going to hire a guide for the first day. Any recommendations as to guides and lodging. Or any other advice. Thanks

2. Member
    Two guides that I know is Ray Hanselman and Rick Harris. Ray might be out of town because he fishes the Bassmaster Elite series and if he is I would get into contact with Rick Harris. Rick is a new guide down there but is a good fisherman and has been on the lake quite a few times to say the least. You can find him on facebook and twitter.

3. Banned
    Ray Hanselman is good if you can get him, Stan Gerzney is good too his number is 830-768-3648. I’m not recommending any places to stay down there.

I don't see the point in hiring a guide on that lake. Just get out there and look down. If the fish are there, you will see them. If you don't see fish, move. It's that simple in March.

Take lots of white X-Raps.
    Gitcha Bass On!

2015 ZX225

5. Banned
    Quote Originally Posted by utinator View Post
    I don't see the point in hiring a guide on that lake. Just get out there and look down. If the fish are there, you will see them. If you don't see fish, move. It's that simple in March.

Take lots of white X-Raps.
    It’s not that simple anymore, water clarity isn’t what it used to be. It was better sight fishing at Falcon last year than Amistad for us last year.

6. Banned
    Not sure what size boat you’ll be running, but the wind always blows in the spring time. Don’t try going up the lake in a small boat without watching the weather forecast.

Edit: my mistake, the Ramada has an indoor & outdoor pool for the kiddo.
    Last edited by grout-scout; 01-31-2019 at 10:18 PM.

7. Member
    Kurt Dove knows this lake about as well as anyone.

8. Banned
    Quote Originally Posted by grout-scout View Post