Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Illinois tax audit

Bought a boat 3 years ago from a seller in Tennessee. Im a resident of illinois. Had no problem with paperwork or transferring title or anything. All of a sudden i get a letter in the mail stating they are auditing my boat purchase because i paid below "fair market value". The motor was blown and the boat now books between 11k-15k the tax auditor told me. My bill of sale states that i purchased the boat for 6k. I spend 4.5k on motor rebuild and have receipts. The auditor asked if i could mail that to them to prove i had work done. Also she wanted my bank records and my withdrawals. I said i paid cash and my withdrawls arent accurate because i took out money to pay for the rebuild. Had anyone encounteted this and am i gonna get screwed because my boat is worth more than i paid for it? Like...its my fault i got a good deal? Thats why i bought the damn thing. I guess im curious what my realistic options, and expectations of this process are gonna be? They want all my receipts, registration, insurance info, bill of sale, bank statments.... Im like... That was 3yrs ago. I dont know where that sh*t is. I luckily found the bill of sale in with my title. But jeesh! What is a guy supposed to do????

I'd contact all the companies you had do work and ask them for receipts as well (if you don't already have them). Also - I would ask the original seller if you can contact him for a notarized letter stating the motor was not running when purchased, hence the price.
    2005 Ranger 185DVS

3. Banned
    They're just doing their small part in covering the $ billions in Illinois state pension deficits.

4. Member