1985 Ranger Weak Transom

I am brand new to BBC and I'm glad I found it. I purchased this boat for $2000 off of Craigslist in September. I have taken it out about 10 times since then and it has run great! However, I have noticed some flex in the transom lately. I did the hammer test and I believe it is rotten in some areas.

After doing some research, I feel like Seacast or some other kind of pourable is the way to go. I would preferably have a dealer install it; however, there are only 3 in all of Texas that can do it. Do you guys recommend this? Still open to having new plywood being put in instead. Has anyone had a dealer pour Seacast in the transom, and how much was it? Would like a ballpark number of how much it could cost before driving 4 hours round trip to get a quote. Thanks!

Boat is a 1985 320v. It is 16 feet. Here are some pics
    https://imgur.com/a/atffhGL

2. Member
    Post your question over at the Bassboat Restoration forum as well if you haven't already

http://www.bbcboards.net/forumdisplay.php?f=118

3. Member
    just did thanks a lot!

4. Member
    As you know first hand those boats still had wood in them, wasnt until a couple years later Ranger went to all composite construction.
    1984 Ranger 395V 1998 Mariner 225 Mag EFI

"A bad day of fishing, is always better then a good day at work"

5. Member
    Quote Originally Posted by rangervalenti View Post
    As you know first hand those boats still had wood in them, wasnt until a couple years later Ranger went to all composite construction.
    I did some research and that's what I learned. I think it was 1987? Did you redo your 395's transom?

6. Member