Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

HDS GEN 2 QUESTION

I have (2) HDS GEN 2s that lost time when everybody else did. Just before the fix came out, I bought a point 1 set up and installed it, time is back.
    My question is, do I still do the updates, or leave it alone. I'm scared of all the stuff that can go wrong during an update and I've never done it before.
    Thanks

2. Member
    if you disconnect the pt one you will most likely have a time issue. The pt1 has corrected this for some. No one on here has had any issues with the GPS Legacy update. But if your scared then don't do it.

3. Member
    I would do it.

As BH said, without the P1 time will be incorrect, and one day you will sell that unit, or you might simply loose power to your NMEA-network while fishing one day. Get the HDS in order, and you have redundancy and peace of mind.

4. Member
    Have tried for days to download the time patch for the GEN 2 units and It always fails. I get timed out and lose connection. I can download all the other updates. Any suggestions?

5. Member
    Quote Originally Posted by jthomp47 View Post
    Have tried for days to download the time patch for the GEN 2 units and It always fails. I get timed out and lose connection. I can download all the other updates. Any suggestions?
    Odd....If for some reason you are not able to resolve the download issue, shoot me a PM with your address and I'll send you a SD card with the patch. I would need to know if the Gen2 units are touch or non-touch. Also, my experience was that the patch contains the most recent update (6.0-54.2.46 for touch, 4.0-45.2.200 for non-touch)

6. Member
    Thanks for the information. I'll go ahead and do the update, if I have problems I'll be back to ask more questions.
    Thanks again.

7. Member
    I'm having the same problem. The legacy patch on the Lowrance website just gives me a screen full of garbled words. The other updates ask you if you want to open or save. I guess it's a Lowrance website issue?