Bass Sport help.

Helping a friend who has a new 36 volt trolling motor. The current set up is only 24 Volts. The 2 trolling batteries are upfront and the starter is in port rear. Should it have wiring already there for 36 volts or will I have to re design the whole thing? Any help appreciatad.

2. Member
    I am no electrician but I believe, more volts draws less amps so the wire size should be ok. Going to 12 bolt with same power would require larger wire....

Yes sir what. I'm wondering..since there is only room for two batteries up front if there is a pre existing wires that can be used or will I have to run jumpers to somewhere ?

4. BBC SPONSOR
    To go 36v you will have to add the 3rd battery (obviously) and the required wiring from the troller battery compartment to the 3rd battery location.

The best way to add a 3rd troller battery to the BasSport IMO is to get the oil tank/battery box tray (pre EPA fuel tank) if you dont have it already and mount the battery in the bilge just in front of the fuel tank. This will keep the extra weight over the center of the boat. From there it is fairly easy to route the power cables up the port side to the battery box.

Make sure you are using a 60a circuit breaker, and I would put the rear battery in the middle of the series to make wiring much easier.
    Fastbass Marine LLC
    We specialize in NEW and USED ALLISON BOATS, Blazer Boats, Platinum Mercury Marine Repower Center, AquaTraction Flooring, and custom marine electronic installations on beautiful Kentucky and Barkley Lakes.

2022 Allison XB-21 BasSport Pro Elite
    2022 Mercury 450R

2012 Bullet 21ss
    2005 Mercury 300X

https://youtu.be/FOnAGNWOgZ0

5. Member
    Could go to lithium batteries. Just be ready for sticker shock.

6. Member
    My boat had a 24V troller with both trolling batteries in the front center compartment. My crank battery is in rear port box.