Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

2011 250 SHO Info, maintenance, tips, etc.

So I'm New to Yamaha and really to the Yamaha portion of BBC I guess.. Sorry if I do not post something correctly. Coming from Mercury 2 stroke to Yamaha 4 is going to be a little different for me. Anyway, Don Weed is the "guru" so to speak over on that page that I have followed and put all of my trust in over the years, because I feel like he flat knows his stuff on Mercury DFI motors. That being said, who is "that person" on the Yamaha SHO? There were always specific instructions over there that I went by as far as what fluids to run in my fuel, what fuel to run, what oil to run, what lower unit oil to run, exactly what maintenance needs to be done and when it needs to be done, to keep my motor running at optimal performance. etc. etc. I haven't seen that stuff in the sticky posts at the top of the page yet here and just trying to run it all down and figure out who's who, figure out the best place to get parts and things like that. Thanks in advance. Been looking forward to the opportunity of running one of these motors for a while now and it's finally happening. Excited about getting it on the water, but I've always been the person that wants to be running a fine tuned motor too. I'm not the put gas in it and go 'till it blows type of guy. Just need some help figuring out what to do, what to run, and how to maintain, and I'm also going to be breaking in a brand new powerhead (getting replaced under Yamaha recall(no issues with the motor to date 180 hours on original powerhead)) if anybody has any extra guidance on that.

2. Member