Thread: Electric smoker

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Electric smoker

Looking for some feedback, I’m thinking about an electric smoker simply for the “set it and forget it” ease of use.

I see Masterbuilt makes a big smoker, 40”. Reading the reviews, they tend to be mixed, some people have problems with the circuit board. Looks like a lot of electrics are 30”, I’m thinking the 40” just to have more room for bigger crowds.

Thoughts?

2. Member
    Buy a pellet grill...way more versital

Steve Dyer
    Mt. Pleasant, NC

3. Ya, I Live on Rainy Lake! basscla's Avatar
    I started with an electric and now have a Weber Smokey Mountain. No comparison, the charcoal makes the BBQ better and it's easy to use.

4. Banned
    I'd say either a WSM or pellet. Same thing but you'll like the outcome better.

5. Member
    I have a masterbuilt. You will have problems with the electronics if you let them get wet. Thats the only complaint I have with them. Otherwise its exactly what you said.. .set it and forget it.

Some prefer the pellet smokers but you are also gonna pay for it. Not sure there would be a difference IMO smoke is smoke.

6. Banned
    I have had an electric Mastercraft a couple of years--no problems. It's easy to use, however it really doesn't have my preferred smoke taste.

Next up, I'm going to go ahead a build a UDS--Ugly Damn Smoker--out of a 55 gallon food drum. The plans are online and at Popular Mechanics.

There's just no taste like the smoke being rendered directly on smoldering hardwood coals. And the UDS after some practice can do a whole cooking with no refueling.

7. Member
    Set it and forget it as the heat goes, but as for the smoke... not so much... I'm always checking on it ever 30 minutes or so... 9nce the smoke quits and the temps is low I always have to crank it back up to get the chips to start smoking
    Ranger 205dvs 225opti

8. Member
    Thanks for the feedback. Gives me a few things to think about

9. Member