Thread: Solix Review?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Solix Review?

Just curious of some feedback from those who have Solix units. I currently have 2 Helix G1 units and am looking to add a Solix to my lineup. I have no experience with Mega Imaging. Over the past couple years I have been doing more off-shore fishing. Primarily 18-35 feet. So my question is.. how do you guys like the 2D sonar and the Chirp/Mega imaging when fishing deeper water? Any other complaints or positive feedback on them?

2. Member
    I just recently purchased a new Solix and I replaced a Gen1 Helix 10 SI. I have a couple more Helix 10's mounted up front and thinking about selling those now and replacing with another Solix. I am sold on them. You will have to get used to the new screens and navigating around with menus and settings. Thats the only hurdle. Other than that 100% better IMO.
    Lee Setser
    2022 Blazer 625
    2022 Mercury 250 Pro XS
    Lowrance HDS 12 Lives
    Lowrance Active Target

I’ve had one for 2 seasons and a second for one season
    One of the best images I’ve seen!

Literally sight fishing the screen for bedding bass in deeper water

You will be amazed at what you can see

BUTT

It’s one of the most voltage/amperage sensitive units you will ever see, these are power hungry monsters

Even thou they say its operating voltage is 10.8 to 20 volts I’m here to tell you as soon as the voltage drops to 12.4 or lower you are going to start seeing glitch’s and they get worse as the voltage drops

90% of all issues with the Solix are voltage related

If you plan to install it on the bow you will need to run a dedicated power feed for it and depending on the power source you still may have issues especially if your using the same battery that runs everything else in the boat

I installed a 5th battery in a storage compartment just to run the 12” mega at the bow