Truck Reverse Tow/Backup Fuse Blowing

2015 Tundra.
    2011 Skeeter with EZ Loader trailer.

I replaced the entire actuator assembly including the reverse solenoid earlier this year due to the previous owner neglecting it. Brakes have been working great since then.
    Last week at the ramp I went to back the boat in when I was stopped suddenly by the surge brakes. After panicking I found the truck's TOW BK/UP 7.5A fuse had blown. Replaced the fuse quickly and I was able to backup.
    Yesterday it happened again when getting to the boat ramp (30 miles away). This time I put the fuse in and it immediately blew when I put the truck in reverse. Had to use a socket with duct tape to keep the actuator from compressing in. Initial look at the blue wiring that I spliced (leads directly into the solenoid) looks great.

Any ideas? Any help is greatly appreciated as I am not an electrician, but savvy enough to figure things out.

2. Joe4d
    well you have a ground in your backup light circuit. Try it without the trailer hooked up. If everything is good, then u know its the trailer. Back up lights on trailer with water maybe ? Ground in it somewhere, corrosion in plug and connections , just gotta hunt it down. If you have an ohm meter, you can disconnect trailer hook one lead of meter to the backup wire, the other to the ground , and or the trailer frame itself... Check ur ohms,,, then start moving wires or connections till the ohms go away or increase. May help narrow down the problem

Quote Originally Posted by Joe4d View Post