250 4S pro xs and sc 1000 tach and speed question

2B575986
    Probley more of a gauge question than engine.
    I have 2 gas tanks... 1 starboard 1 port...but I only have Fuel 1 reading and it is reading off the port tank. I can not get it to read fuel 2 for the starboard tank. I have been through the screen options and I dont see where you can add or select yes for fuel 2. What could I be missing?

I did a master reset and no change.

2. Mercury 3L/4 Stroke/Verado Moderator EuropeanAM's Avatar
    Fuel-2 is not used on Fourstroke Product (75-> hp). That circuit is utilized for Water in Fuel.

There is a way to read two tanks- though you would need to manually select one or the other via a switch at the console.

Did your boat originally come with Smartcraft? Any analog fuel gauges present?

Dual Mercury Master Technician- for Mercury Outboards, Mercruiser and Mercury Racing at European Marine in Greenville, SC.
    Still consider myself a "Marine Apprentice" after 47 years (learn something new every day).
    Mercury Parts, Mercury Outboards, Smartcraft & Accessories, Injector Service, TDR Reeds- BBC Sponsor

3. Member
    It did come with SmartCraft...no analog gauges except water psi and jackplate.
    I know only a few boats like mine have been rigged with the new 4S so it could be something the manufacturer missed.

If I understand you correctly this would have to be accomplished with a switch at the dash.
    Would this switch toggle between tanks and then show the difference on the sc 1000 or would I need another gauge?

Or .... I do have both sc 1000 gauges speed and tach.
    Each gauge has a fuel reading...Could they be set up to read different tanks...say speed read the port and tach read the starboard?
    That would agree with location of each tank also.

4. Mercury 3L/4 Stroke/Verado Moderator EuropeanAM's Avatar
    Inputs would be on ONE gauge.