Couple 1197 questions

I'm new to Humminbird. I've had the boat out once and turned on the 1197c si. It is set up like the previous owner had it (I have no idea what his settings are). SI seemed to work, color sonar showed in color but with no reading. Also the digital depth reading was a constant 5.5 feet in all screens. Any ideas?

I'm thinking of restoring it back to the factory default settings. Any worries with reset to defaults?

Thanks.

2. Member
    Update. I reset it to factory default settings and still get a wrong depth reading. Reads around 5 feet no matter what. Any ideas? Thanks.

Where is the transducer that provides 2D/Depth?

That value may indicate a loose shoot-thru 2D transducer.
    Wayne Purdum
    Charlottesville, Va.
    Helix 12 CHIRP MEGA+ SI G3N/G4N, Helix 15 CHIRP MEGA SI+ GPS G4N
    SOLIX 12 SI/G3, Helix 8 CHIRP MEGA SI+ G4N, Ultrex 80/LINK, MEGA360,
    MEGA LIVE, LIVE TL

4. Member
    I can't even try to explain the reason for time between posts. Same problems with the 1197. GPS is fine. 2d shows blurry color but not any type of true image. Side image view is fine. No matter what the real depth, read out is always 5.5 feet. Temp read out is fine. I have an XHS 9 HDSI 180 T transducer for the 1197.

Can the 2d part of the transducer go bad but SI be okay? I have an 1158 with 2d color and DI, no si on the bow. Looks like it has an XNT 9 DI T transducer. Can I swap the two units without problem? Basically I'm thinking if the 1197 2d works when at the bow with the 1158 transducer, and the 1158 has the same issues in 2d at the console, then the XHS 9 HDSI 180 T transducer is bad?

Is there a possible 2d shoot through transducer, in addition to the XHS 9 HDSI 180 T transducer, that might have gone bad?

Thanks in advance.

Quote Originally Posted by BRADVAN View Post