Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Fouling #1 plug - 200 opti

Hi guys. Happy to have found this forum. Seems like there's a wealth of knowledge on here. I learned how to replace the compressor and get the injectors cleaned because of BBC, so thank you.
    On to the problem:
    I've been battling a misfire for a few months now. It typically starts in the upper RPM's, say 4500 or so, while cruising. I replaced the plugs and wires, and noticed that one of the wires was dry rotted, and also that the #1 cylinder plug was fouled. Boat ran like a top for probably 10 hours and then the misfire came back. #1 plug was fouled again. Next time out my compressor seized up (unrelated I figure), so I replaced that with a new one and also had all 12 injectors cleaned and flow tested. A couple of them were pretty fouled up according the the flow sheets. Put it back together and it ran better than ever. Then, like clockwork, 10 hours later that #1 plug is getting fouled again, causing the misfire. I tried a new coil and the problem came back. I'll be doing a compression check here shortly, but I'm wondering if a chipped or not sealing reed valve could cause this? Anything else I should check for? All new filters, cleaned compressor strainer, poppet valve, thermostats (newer style), fuel lines.
    On a possibly somewhat related note... my boat seems to go through more oil than my old 150 opti I had did.. a lot more. Probably around 30:1 or so. (even before I put it in break in mode after the compressor change... which was 20 hours ago or more)

Thanks in advance.
    -Mag

1. 0t019180
    2. 2000 Optimax
    3. Tempest plus 24
    4. 5600 rpm
    5. No idea
    6. The old 3 light round gauge and an analog tach

Did you inspect the reeds? Ahh just saw you said something about them. I would take a hard look at them.
    Ryan Bauman 2022 Ranger 520R 250 Mercury ProXS Fourstroke

3. Member
    I’m fighting the same isuee with good old number 6. Lots of compression but keeps foulding the plug.