New Stratos Owner Here

Hello. I recently purchased a 1996 Stratos 278 with a 1990 Johnson 175 GT, looking to upgrade to a 225 Johnson soon, hopefully. I fished back in the mid 90's and getting back into it after all this time. I live in the Kissimmee area, but work in GA, Newnan area. Looking forward to everyone's knowledge about fishing and set ups.

2. Member
    Welcome! A 278 is capable of mid-upper 60's with a 150. you must know how to drive if you're going 225! What are your numbers with the 175?

I would not over horsepower a hull that is brand new due to liability issues...I would not over horsepower a 22 year old hull for the same reason plus safety reasons.

4. Member
    I appreciate the input. Ive been driving boats for 20 years. But I will agree, it, may not be a great idea putting more hp on a 22 yr old boat, geshhh wasnt 1996 just last year, :) This is what I have and where im at with it. I think I may raise it on the jack plate just a smidgen more to try and get the rpms up 200-300 more.

1996 stratos 278
    1990 Johnson GT 175
    6" Jack plate
    3" below pad
    23 Pitch Solas Scorpion
    turns 5k and runs at 60mph gps

I think the transom could handle it but I am a natural skeptic on the liability part...you hear people talk about the possibility of having an accident with an overpowered motor/boat and getting their butt sued off. I have never had an accident on the water but as soon as I overpowered the first thing I would do is hit someone who is an ambulance chaser with a lawyer on speed dial.

You combo has excellent slip numbers. I am surprised your only turning 5000 rpm if your net speed is 60 GPS.

6. Member