Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

2019 Phoenix 920 XP towing long distance???

All, I ordered a new 2019 Phoenix 920 XP a few months ago and was told today it will be ready noon on Friday for pickup. I am flying out to pick it up. I am going to tow it back to Central FL from Kentucky. Any tips on towing that long of a drive? I am new to boating as my 15 year old got me into it and I am hooked. (No Pun intended). Just want to know any tips for traveling over 800 miles home with my new bird. I also have the new v-8 4 stroke merc on it as well with matching colors on the engine. Pretty excited to test it out and fish some tournaments.

2. Member
    make sure tire pressures are good (all 5) before leaving and hubs are full- needs pics!!!!
    2022 z519 cup 225 merc 4s ser # 3B210484. 2--hds12 live units. 2 poles, atlas plate, ghost, hamby's, active target, merc digital gauges
    2002 basscat pantera 3 (dad bought new) sold 8-2-22
    2000 stratos 20 ss (bought new) 200 hp Rude ficht great boat/motor sold 11-21
    pulled by a 2500HD Denali
    proud dad of an ARMY Captain
    MAGA
    ASE/GM Master tech before tools

3. Member
    have the dealer check the torque on the trailer lug nuts in addition to the air.

take your time, keep your distance between vehicles in front of you, and double check your mirrors. I look in my mirrors every few minutes even if I am not making a lane change.

4. Scraps
    I made an 8 hr trip to pick mine up - in KY. Just take your time. Tire pressure is about all you can worry about. On your trip, make sure you're getting brake applications. Look at the discs when stopping to see that they're clean and shiny and working. I think I picked a boat up with the brakes not working 100%.
    2017 Phoenix 819
    2016 200ProXS, s/n 2B359849, Mod 1200P73BD

5. Member
    In addition to what others have said, make sure you check your straps, winch, and engine on the transom saver whenever you stop for gas and/or food.