Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

97 Faststrike 150 High Idle

97 J150GLEUE. I start the motor, and it goes into high idle to warm up ~1500rpm then once warm it drops to ~1200 rpm. In gear it idles at 800rpm and idles nice, goes into gear nice as well. If I run to a fishing spot and go from forward to neutral the motor idles high (1500-1800) and doesn’t come back down to 1200rpm at all. Then if I got to put it back into gear I get a loud clunk, it will idle in gear at 800rpm still but in neutral it idles too high. I’m no expert by anymeans... that’s why I’m posting here but my guess would be it’s time for new thermostats. What do you guys think?

2. SC Club Moderator ChampioNman's Avatar
    Check the head temps first before replacing anything. Then if they are good, then ground the quickstart white/black trace wire, it may be the temp sensor on the port head.

okay just to confirm, I am checking head temps to ensure the thermostats are operating properly and not stuck open?

When I ground the quick start wire, what am I looking for? Run the motor and see if it solves my problem when going from forward to neutral?

4. SC Club Moderator ChampioNman's Avatar
    Yes checking the head temps will confirm either stuck open or closed you should see temps aroun145* F. By grounding the white/black wire to the engine block, it will confirm that the motor is coming out of quick start, if it does you have a bad temp/quick start sensor if it doesn't then the issue lies in the power pack. All test should be done with the lower unit submerged and not on muffs.