Thread: Hard steering

Hard steering

Couldn't find much of the way on the subject.
    I have the 2019 z18 and put her in the water for the first time. One of the first things I noticed is the steering on plane ( all thru the rpm range) was overly hard left or right. It's set up with the hydraulic assist. Now I'm pretty stout and it just seems way too stiff. Granted I'm new to the high performance bass boats but if my wife has to drive It's not going to happen and that will take away from her enjoyment ... just sayin

cheers

2. Member
    I have no experience with the new 4 stokes, but with both my 2016 Z18 and my current 2017 Z21, I get increased torque on the steering wheel when the motor is set too high.
    '17 Nitro Z21, 250ProXS serial # 2B399616, 24p Fury4, 12" Atlas, Apex 16 @ console, Apex 16 & Apex 13 @ bow, Mega 360, Ultrex, 8ft blades

I'm assuming that as the boat is getting up to speed your bumping the trim up ? More trim up the faster you go?
    Mercury 250 proxs 2B115089

4. Member
    My z19 does the same stuff thing at certain speeds. Trim down or slow a little and the steering will be easy again. That's what works for me.

5. Member
    Nice smooth plane at all rpm's and still really really hard to turn in either direction. I cannot make hard turns with one hand let alone two hands.

6. Member
    Setting on the trailer does it turn easy?
    Try to trim down in the turns and I mean just tap it down a little at a time while in the turn to see if the steering loosen up.

7. Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Jigman78 View Post
    Setting on the trailer does it turn easy?
    Try to trim down in the turns and I mean just tap it down a little at a time while in the turn to see if the steering loosen up.
    Tried it in the turns and no change
    tried on the trailer and seems normal

8. Member
    There is a reason the motor is torquing so bad. Have you call the dealership yet?