Thread: optimax help

optimax help

I am at work tonight and forgot to bring my serial number with me and can post it tomorrow if need be. I have a 2004 250 pro xs. I had an issue with water in the fuel, bad batch of gas, and drained the tank. While I was doing that I changed the fuel line from the tank to the motor as well. The motor starts up fine and will idle all day. I can take off just fine as well. Once I am running, about half throttle to all the way throttle, the motor bogs down and I have to get out of the throttle and then get back in it to get the motor back going again. It feels like a fuel delivery issue but I am not a pro in any sense of the word and really don't know. I noticed the motor kinda cutting out before when at WOT, before the bad gas deal. It felt like it was hitting the rev limiter but it never bogged down like it is now.

Again I am not an expert by any means. Could it be air? Could it be the tps? What should I check? Any advice will be appreciated. Thanks.

2. Member
    Perform a TPS sweep test.

3. Member
    10-4. Is that something I should bring it in for or is that something I can figure out how to do? Oh and thank you for the reply. Very much appreciated.

4. Member
    Also you have opened up the VST and made sure there's no water or crap in there? And that the filter there is not crudded up and being too restrictive?
    2008 Bass Cat Pantera Classic
    2014 Mercury Pro XS 200

5. Member