Surf and Pier Fishing Orange Beach-Questions

We're headed to Orange Beach first week of August. I'd like to fish while there but I have no saltwater experience besides bottom fishing a few times on a party boat. Any recommendations for getting started are appreciated.

Do y'all like fishing from the pier, the beach, the bay, or all of the above? Is there a rod and reel that can handle all of the above effectively (without costing much since we live inland)? Is any of my bass stuff worth taking? Any tips on how and what to catch? Thanks.

2. Member
    Get up and be on the beach at sun up and wade out with a 7' spinning rod and some flashy spoons...I did this and wore out the lady fish, caught a large speckled trout, had a cpl big runs that got off etc etc...you never know what you will catch...the lady fish are trash fish, but are fun as all get out...during the day, i used a cpl rods with double drop rigs and either shirmp or sand fleas and caught some pompono and other fish as well..

7 ft medium sized spinning rod with either a spoon or frozen shrimp at the fishing area on the west side of Alabama Point bridge.

4. idbefishing
    Quote Originally Posted by lablazin View Post
    7 ft medium sized spinning rod with either a spoon or frozen shrimp at the fishing area on the west side of Alabama Point bridge.
    Good size mangrove snappers there and man they’re good eating

5. Member
    Thanks, guys. Really just looking to catch whatever bites but I wouldn't mind having something for the table. Is it worth trying the pier? If so, is the 7' medium spinning outfit suitable?

6. Member