First oil change...

I'm new to owning a boat. Picked up my 190 TX about a year ago. Since I fish mostly electric only lakes, I've only put less than 10 hours on the 115 Pro XS in the past year. The boat is stored in a garage when not in use.

I'm heading up to a big lake up north for a week in the middle of July. Should I change the lower unit oil before or after that trip? I believe I should be changing the oil because it's been a year, but I am no where near the hours.

2. Member
    I check my lower unit oil by pulling the top plug a couple times a year. I have about 55 hours on mine now? It's a 2017. I've also pulled the prop at least once a year to inspect and make sure fishing line hasn't been caught behind there and ruin the seals. Outside of that I changed the oil at the 20 hour mark per the manual and then at the end of the first and second season. That's what the manufacturer calls for. I'll change the water pump impeller and the gear oil this year as it's the third season. I'll also do the fuel filter this year.

I get the Merc oil change kit from my dealer for about 65.00. It's a REAL easy DIY job. There are a couple of Youtube videos on the oil change.

It won't hurt anything to do the gear oil now, but IMO it'll be fine for no more hours than you've put on it.

3. Banned
    change both oil and lower gear oil before July trip

4. Winter can end now..... BoatBuggy's Avatar
    I'd be changing the oil. It's not hard (but it is a little messy) and if the engine was new when you bought it, there may be metal shavings in it as the gears seated themselves. If you do it yourself, don't forget to get new gaskets for the screws.
    2013 Ranger Z520c, 2013 Yamaha 250 SHO
    2018 Ranger RT198p, 2013 Mercury 150 Optimax