Fury 4 questions

Background about my boat:
    1999 518VX 200 HP OPTIMAX
    mercury tempest 25 @ 3.25" below pad
    I have been running this set up for about 10 years now. Best I've seen is 67 MPH on GPS.
    Always had a great hole shot and ran about 5700 RPM at WOT.

Now I've just recently added 10' talons to the back. Boat still runs great once it's on pad and I really don't have any porpoising issues coming of plane (very minor). The biggest issue I am having is getting out of the hole. I contacted Roger (ghost Comanche) on these boards per the advise of other members. He indicated that I should try the new Fury 4 in a 24 pitch.
    Well I received the prop today. So a few questions that I have are:
    1) how many plugs should I be running for this my set up? Prop came with plugs but none are actually in the prop. Also the are eight holes....I'm just not family with this prop. Lol
    2) should I raise my prop to pad height? I've done some reading and guys are raising the prop to 2.75" below pad? Or should I just leave it where it is?
    Also when I first bought this boat the previous owner had a trophy 24 4 blade and that prop sucked...I called ranger and they told me that that was the correct prop for the boat...? So now that I have another 4 blade, I am lost with the added weight of the talons. I just want my hole
    shot back, I'll add that I'm not a speed demon...if I lose 4-5 MPH on top end I won't cry about it. Although some treads are saying that the fury 4 has increased top end...? So you can see I could use a bit of advise. Thanks again for all the help over the years and now! -steve

2. Member
    Steve,