Banned

FRIED rev limiter on 2004 50hp 2 stroke ELPTO...or what is this?

Been having a ton of trouble recently and I think its getting worse. It started with me hearing a constant beep when the boat was on. Heres the thread I started for that... http://www.bbcboards.net/showthread.php?t=894859

Also called Mercury today and they basically confirmed what the threads and googling lead me to believe. Low oil or overheating problem. I still think its the oil tank reservoir since the motor pee's just fine visually. I got the oil tank now....but ran into some electrical FIRE problems....and here is the thread for that (LOTS OF PICS too)... http://www.bbcboards.net/showthread.php?t=901216

So think I figured this out to be loose/unconnected positive and negative wires making contact and heating up causing my fire/smoke problems.

Went out to look at the motor today under the cowling...and now I found more problems....and I think its gonna get expensive!

Im a total noob...so im just basing my assumptions off googling. Saw some parts diagrams for my motor and similar motors...and I think this might be the rev limiter? someone in another thread mentioned ECM....and I have no idea what that is, but I hope not cuz that sounds expensive! You can see how its burnt through and the melted gunk that was on it from melting.

then if I press the center here, it feels soft....so I wouldnt be surprised if the whole thing is ruined. No idea what it is or when it happened...assuming last time I was on the water when I had the fire/smoke problem. with that said...I reconnected the battery to start up the motor to see if things were working after the fire incident....and the motor started up find on the muffs....even tho I just had it on for 30 seconds-minute since I just wanted to see if itd start...but it did start, seemingly normally/what Im used to.